New York Knicks’ Free Agency Tour Makes Its Way To Lebron James

As the clock struck 12:01am early Wednesday, the Knicks were already off and running to conquer its summer free agency quest.

On the very same day that free agents are finally able to negotiate, the Knicks’ recruitment team, consisting of Donnie Walsh, Mike D’Antoni, Allan Houston, and James Dolan have already made stops to talk with certain free agents.

Although Dolan did not reportedly travel to Los Angeles early Wednesday, the rest of the group met with Joe Johnson.

Johnson has maximum contracts offers from both the Knicks and Hawks. Although Johnson has beamed when asked about reuniting with Mike D’Antoni, his visit with the Knicks could already be a waste.

The Hawks, as Johnson’s last team, can add a sixth year to its contract offer, while the Knicks cannot.

Johnson appears close to accepting the Hawks’ offer, as he would leave nearly $25 million on the table if he were to sign with the Knicks instead of the Hawks.

However, there is no time for the Knicks to look back. The tour continued on its rapid pace Thursday afternoon as Dolan joined the group at LeBron James’ home in Ohio.

After Thursday, the free agency tour ultimately becomes the search for James’ perfect running mate, as the Knicks have scheduled meetings in Chicago with Chris Bosh and Dwayne Wade, and Amare Stoudemire shortly after that.

James has told confidants he hopes to have made a decision by Monday. This gives the Knicks only the next few days to lure in a second free agent in order to sweeten the deal.

Dirk Nowitzki will also be in New York Friday night to have dinner with Mavericks teammate Jason Kidd. While it’s unknown whether or not he plans to meet with Knicks’ brass, they would have to fly back in from Chicago late Friday to make that happen.

After all the planning, due diligence, and anticipation, make no mistake Walsh (who is making trips in a wheelchair following his neck surgery two weeks ago) would certainly, nevertheless, lead his brigade back to New York if Dirk comes calling.

The team also met with swing man Mike Miller in L.A. on Thursday.

12 Responses to New York Knicks’ Free Agency Tour Makes Its Way To Lebron James

  1. Maura Johnson says:

    I want Lebron on the Knicks so badly! I was reading this article earlier about what could happen and I think Charlie’s right.

    http://www.msg.com/blogs/charlie-zegers/three-lebron-scenarios-1.45469

  2. New York Knicks' Free Agency Tour Makes Its Way To Lebron James ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. Your Garden says:

    New York Knicks' Free Agency Tour Makes Its Way To Lebron James ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  4. Chris Ross says:

    Very well written article and a great blog you got over here! I think it is foolish for the Knicks to take on Amare if they want to win an NBA championship. He is obviously very talented but I think that there are a lot of flaws in his game that won’t allow his team to translate to an NBA championship. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I really want to know what you think. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/07/02/take-a-stupid-pill-sign-amare/

  5. MJ says:

    At 10:00 p.m. “Knicks Night Live” will return for another 30-minute special to examine the latest developments in the NBA’s free agency period.

  6. Geoff Map says:

    Le Bron James is off to Miami! He’ll be missed, but best of luck down there!

  7. Andrew A. az says:

    Keep working ,great job!

  8. gumnamjanu says:

    Nice post! GA is also my biggest earning. However, it’s not a much.

  9. Well I do not generally comment on weblogs but I came across yours whilst I was doing some work researching in Bing today therefore i figured I would shoot a quick note. Needless to say I have gotten a bit sidetracked after sticking around to browse a number of your posts. You have some good insights here, so I’ll add you to my Google Reader for the future. All the best!

  10. I invariably have a tendency to contemplate a tad harder about all kinds of things after I read somebody new’s site and their particular thoughts. This and some other posts on your website here surely offer some things to think about. Surprisingly, Bing directed me to your blog when I was working away at fitness and wellness related research. Totally enjoyed reading through your posts and I’ll be adding you to my bookmarks to keep track in the future. Cheers!

  11. I’ve read many blogs and I can definitely say that your site is my absolute top pick. Favorited, I added this on Digg, and I subscribed to the RSS. Thanks!

  12. I am happy to have found your site. The information is right on and groovy. Keep up the good work and I will keep coming back to visit.

Leave a Reply

